News Release

Fifth Annual Project Front Yard Awards - Make a Nomination Today!
Posted: 9/13/2018 10:00 AM

Commemorating the five-year anniversary of its launch, Project Front Yard (PFY) calls for nominations for the Annual Project Front Yard Awards. The awards recognize individuals, groups and organizations in Lafayette working to improve the face of the community. PFY partner IBERIABANK is once again hosting the yearly celebration.

Nominations are accepted in four categories; Best in Cleanliness, Best in Beautification, Best in Education and Overall Best Project Front Yard Effort.

According to Lafayette Mayor-President Joel Robideaux “Since its inception, Project Front Yard has motivated thousands of citizens to play an active role in community beautification and inspired dozens of groups to take the lead in creating a cleaner community.” These are the types of individuals and organizations he hopes will be nominated. “I am proud of the progress and the community partnerships that have grown with this important initiative. I look forward to celebrating the hard work of this year’s honorees.”

"IBERIABANK is proud to have supported Project Front Yard since its beginning," says Jerry Vascocu, IBERIABANK Acadiana President. "We are excited to honor those who have gone above and beyond to improve our community's appearance for us all to enjoy. We are grateful to host the fifth consecutive Project Front Yard Awards Ceremony and look forward to the continued growth of the program."

To be eligible, individual nominees must either live or work in Lafayette Parish and organizations for nomination must be located within Lafayette Parish. The nomination deadline is September 26, 2018. More details including the 2018 Project Front Yard Award Descriptions and Nomination Forms can be found at

During the Fourth Annual Ceremony in October of 2017, four awards were given to honor individuals and organizations that embody the mission of Project Front Yard: 

  • Best in Cleanliness was presented to Cindy Dilena with Love Acadiana for efforts with Eight Days of Hope (EDOH). Dilena worked with EDOH, Lafayette Consolidated Government (LCG), the Diocese of Lafayette, United Way of Acadiana and Acadiana VOAD to bring more than 2,000 volunteers from 40 states and multiple countries to assist with the recovery efforts following the great flood of August 2016. 
  • Best in Beautification was presented to Tina Shelvin Bingham for her work with the McComb-Veazey Neighborhood Coterie. As the chairperson of the coterie, she has worked to mobilize residents to revitalize McComb-Veazey, one of the oldest neighborhoods in Lafayette. Bingham has successfully applied for and received grant funding totaling $295,000 from the Kresge Foundation and Keep America Beautiful (KAB).
  • Best in Education was presented to Catherine Comeaux for her work with No Waste Louisiana and the Lafayette Parish School System’s (LPSS) recycling program. Comeaux was instrumental in facilitating the implementation of the LPSS recycling program and she formed the Lafayette chapter of No Waste Louisiana – an environmental education organization that works with individuals, businesses and government to reduce needless and avoidable waste in our daily lives.
  • ​The final award of the evening was presented to Keller Williams Realty of Acadiana (KWRA) which partnered with PFY and the McComb-Veazey Neighborhood Coterie to plant its first crop at the new McComb-Veazey community farm. With nearly 100 individuals giving more than five hours of their time, KWRA volunteers planted more than an acre of produce. Upon harvest, the crop created the neighborhood's first farmer's market, providing access to fresh produce for the community which is currently in a food desert. During this same day, Keller Williams volunteers also pressure washed and repainted the Heymann Park Pavilion, benches and playground equipment. In other beautification and cleanliness efforts, Keller Williams Realty of Acadiana adopted the Beaumont, TX area to support relief and recovery work for Hurricane Harvey victims.

View all of the 2017 PFY Award Recipients.